crime fiction home

Ellis Peters Bibliography

UK - US First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
Blue hyperlinked titles go to picture and synopsis
We are always interesting in buying pre 1941 books, UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell Ellis Peters books

Books for Sale
We have preconfigured a personalised search
for this author
When you see the results page
you can change the 'sort by'
list to most expensive first or
see the links on the right
to narrow your search
thank you
Buy Books by Ellis Peters

Brother Cadfael Books

Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
A Morbid Taste for Bones Macmillan 1977 US: 1978 Morrow
One Corpse Too Many Macmillan 1979 US: 1980 Morrow
Monk's Hood Macmillan 1980 US: 1981 Morrow
Saint Peter's Fair Macmillan 1981 US: 1981 Morrow
The Leper of Saint Giles Macmillan 1981 US: 1982 Morrow
The Virgin in the Ice Macmillan 1982 US: 1983 Morrow
The Sanctuary Sparrow Macmillan 1983 US: 1978 Morrow
The Devil's Novice Macmillan 1983 US: 1984 Morrow
Dead Man's Ransom Macmillan 1984 US: 1985 Morrow
The Pilgrim of Hate Macmillan 1984 US: 1984 Morrow
An Excellent Mystery Macmillan 1985 US: 1985 Morrow
The Raven in the Foregate Macmillan 1986 US: 1986 Morrow
The Rose Rent Macmillan 1986 US: 1986 Morrow
The Hermit of Eyton Forest Headline 1987 US: 1988 Mysterious
The Confession of Brother Haluin Headline 1988 US: 1989 Mysterious
A Rare Benedictine Headline 1988 US: 1989 Mysterious
The Heretic's Apprentice Headline 1989 US: 1990 Mysterious
The Potter's Field Headline 1989 US: 1990 Mysterious
The Summer of the Danes Headline 1991 US: 1991 Mysterious
The Holy Thief Headline 1992 US: 1993 Mysterious
Brother Cadfael's Penance Headline 1994  
Brother Cadfael's Book of Days Headline 2000  

Other Titles

Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
Death Mask Collins Crime Club 1959 US: 1960 Doubleday
The Will and the Deed Collins Crime Club 1960 US: 1960 Doubleday as Where There's a Will
Death and the Joyful Woman Collins Crime Club 1961 US: 1961 Doubleday
Funeral of Figaro Collins Crime Club 1962 US: 1964 Morrow
Flight of a Witch Collins Crime Club 1964  
A Nice Derangement of Epitaphs Collins Crime Club 1965 US: 1965 Morrow as Who Lies Here
The Piper on the Mountain Collins Crime Club 1966 US: 1966 Morrow
Black is the Colour of My True Love's heart Collins Crime Club 1967 US: 1967 Morrow
The Grass Widow's Tail Collins Crime Club 1968 US: 1968 Morrow
The House of Green Turf Collins Crime Club 1969 US: 1969 Morrow
Mourning Raga Macmillan 1970 US: 1970 Morrow
The Knocker on Death's Door Macmillan 1970 US: 1971 Morrow
Death to the Landlords Macmillan 1972 US: 1972 Morrow
City of Gold and Shadows Macmillan 1973 US: 1974 Morrow
The Horn of Roland Macmillan 1974 US: 1974 Morrow
Never Pick Up Hitch-Hikers Macmillan 1976 US: 1976 Morrow
Rainbow's End Macmillan 1978 US: 1979 Morrow

as Jolyon Carr

Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
Murder in the Dispensary Jenkins 1938 Orange boards, black lettering
Freedom for Two Jenkins 1939 Orange boards, black lettering
Death Comes By Post Jenkins 1940 Orange boards, black lettering
Masters of the Parachute Mail Jenkins 1940 Orange boards, black lettering

as John Redfern

Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
The Victim Needs a Nurse Jarrolds 1940 ND. Red covers, black letters. Eight pages of ads to rear.
Not present equals later edition

as Edith Pargeter

Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
Fallen Into the Pit Heinemann 1951 Turquoise boards, gilt titles
Holiday with Violence Heinemann 1952  

Further Information
Ellis Peters, born 1913 and passed away 1995, remains a very popular author and is best remembered for her medieval monk and amateur sleuth, Brother Cadfael. A character that started the trend of historical mysteries which are now so prevalent. The character was brought to television, with Derek Jacobi in the lead role, it was a great success worldwide and not doubt contributed greatly to the popularity of the books.  Her other series character was the policeman  George Felse, his wife Bunty and their son Dominic. Collectors should be aware that the majority of the early Macmillan titles went to public libraries so vigilance is required, endpapers and erasure marks! The BCA also published the early Macmillan titles, within a month or so of the 1st, these are identical apart from publisher logos and make a viable alternative to the first editions for the collector on a budget. The Headline titles tend to suffer from their appalling paper quality, so paper tanning is almost unavoidable. If printers keys (number lines) appear on the copyright page then the presence of the number 1 is paramount. They also changed in format with the publisher change, consequently a full set can look a little disjointed. If only people would spare an occasional thought for the collectors.  Ellis Peters did write other titles as well, but given the nature of the site we have only listed the mystery titles..


Crime Fiction

Books Bought     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page