crime fiction home

Cecil Freeman Gregg Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
Cecil Freeman Gregg's Inspector Higgins and Sergeant Brownall books are keenly sought by collectors
The early titles in jackets are rare, later titles less so but by no means common

Buy Books by Cecil Freeman Gregg

Books for Sale
We have preconfigured a personalised search
for this author
When you see the results page
you can change the 'sort by'
list to most expensive first or
see the links on the right
to narrow your search
thank you
Buy Books by Cecil Freeman Gregg
Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
The Murdered Manservant Hutchinson 1928 DW 7/6
The Three Daggers Hutchinson 1929 DW 7/6
The Murder on the Bus Hutchinson 1930 Jan 30. DW 7/6
The Brazen Confession Hutchinson 1930 Sept 30. DW 7/6
The Rutland Mystery Hutchinson 1931 Mar 31. DW 7/6
The Double Solution Hutchinson 1931 Oct 31. DW 7/6
Inspector Higgins Hurries Hutchinson 1932 Mar 32. DW 7/6
The Body Behind the Bar Methuen 1932 Oct 32. DW 7/6
The Duke's Last Trick Methuen 1933 DW 7/6
Inspector Higgins Sees it Through Ditto 1934 Apr 34. DW 7/6
The Execution of Diamond Deutsch Methuen 1934 Oct 34. DW 7/6
The Ten Black Pearls   1935 May 35. DW 7/6
Danger at Cliff House   1935 Oct 35. DW 7/6
Tragedy at Wembley   1936 May 36. DW 7/6
Blue cloth with yellow lettering
Henry Prince in Action   1936 Oct 36. DW 7/6
The Wrong House   1937 DW 7/6
Mystery at Moor Street   1938 Jan 38. DW 7/6
Expert Evidence Rex v Marfelt   1938 Aug 38. DW 7/6
Who Dialled 999 ?   1939 Jan 39. DW 7/6
Danger in the Dark ditto 1939 Jul 39. DW 7/6
The Fatal Error   1940 DW 7/6
Justice   1941 DW 7/6
The Vandor Mystery   1942 DW 8/6
The Return of Henry Prince   1943 Jan 43. DW 8/6
Two Died at Three   1943 Jul 43. DW 8/6
Melander's Millions   1944 DW 8/6
The Old Manor   1945 DW 8/6
Exit Harlequin ditto 1946  
Murder at Midnight   1947  
The Man with a Monocle   1948  
The Ugly Customer   1949  
From Information Received   1950  
Inspector Higgins Goes Fishing   1951  
Accidental Murder Methuen 1952  
Sufficient Rope   1953  
Night Flight to Zurich   1954  
The Chief Constable   1955  
Airtight Alibi   1956  
Dead on Time   1956 Blue cloth with gilt titles, jacket 10/6
Finlay of the Sentinel   1957  
The Obvious Solution   1958  
Professional Jealousy all as above 1960 Green cloth, gilt titles. Jacket 132 6d

Further Information
Cecil Freeman Gregg, born 1898, had two main series characters, Inspector Cuthbert Higgins and Henry Prince. The vast majority of titles saw no American release and a couple of those that did had alternative titles. We know little else of this author, something we should be glad to redress should anyone have any reliable information.


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Bought     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page