crime fiction home

Shelley Smith Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1940 UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell mystery books

Buy Books by Shelley Smith

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Background for Murder Gerald Swan 1942 Blue boards, gilt to spine blind stamped front board.
Dust jacket priced 5/- net
Death Stalks a Lady Swan 1945  
This is the House Collins Crime Club 1945 Dust jacket priced 8/6
Come an Be Killed Collins Crime Club 1946 Dustwrapper priced 8/6
He Died of Murder Collins Crime Club 1947 Dust cover priced 8/6
The Woman in the Sea Collins Crime Club 1948 Dust jacket priced 8/6
Man with a Calico Face Collins Crime Club 1951 Dust jacket priced 8/6
US: 1950
Man Alone Collins Crime Club 1952 Dust jacket priced 9/6
US: The Crooked Man
An Afternoon to Kill Collins Crime Club 1953 Dust jacket priced 9/6
Party at No 5 Collins Crime Club 1954 Dust jacket priced 9/6
US: The Cellar at No 5
The Lord Have Mercy Hamilton 1956  
Rachel Weeping Hamilton 1957  
The Ballad of the Running Man Hamilton 1961  
A Grave Affair Hamilton 1971  
A Game of Consequences Macmillan 1978  

Further Information
Shelley Smith, pseudonym for Nancy Hermione Bodington, was born in Surrey, England, on 12 July 1912. Her books, except when stated, were published in England first. The first three and final books saw no US publication. We have noted alternative titles when applicable. There are a couple of uncollected short stories, as well as a non-criminous novel under her own name.


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page