crime fiction home

Julian Symons Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are interesting in buying pre 1940 UK firsts in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling detective fiction wanted

Buy Books by Julian Symons

Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
The Immaterial Murder Case Gollancz 1945 Blue cloth, gilt titles
A Man Called Jones Gollancz 1947 No US edition, blue/gilt
Bland Beginning Gollancz 1949 Red cloth, black lettering
The Thirty-First of February Gollancz 1950 as above
The Broken Penny Gollancz 1953 Red cloth, gilt letters
The Narrowing Circle Gollancz 1954 Red cloth gilt letters
The Paper Chase Collins Crime Club 1956  
The Colour of Murder Collins Crime Club 1957  
The Gigantic Shadow Collins Crime Club 1958  
The Progress of a Crime Collins Crime Club 1960  
Murder Murder Fontana 1961 paperback, no US edition
The Killing of Francie Lake Collins Crime Club 1962  
The End of Solomon Grundy Collins Crime Club 1964  
The Belting Inheritance Collins Crime Club 1965  
Francis Quarles Investigates Panther 1965 paperback, no US edition
The Man Who Killed Himself Collins Crime Club 1967  
The Man Whose Dreams Came True Collins Crime Club 1968  
The Man Who Lost His Wife Collins Crime Club 1970  
The Players and the Game Collins Crime Club 1972  
The Plot against Roger Rider Collins Crime Club 1973  
A Three Pipe Problem Collins Crime Club 1975  
How to Trap a Crook Davis 1977  
The Blackheath Poisonings Collins Crime Club 1978  
Sweet Adelaide Collins Crime Club 1980  
The Great Detectives Orbis 1981  
The Detling Murders Macmillan 1982 Grey cloth
Tigers in Subtopia Macmillan 1983 Maroon cloth
The Name of Annabel Lee Macmillan 1983 Blue cloth
The Criminal Comedy of a Contented Couple Macmillan 1985 Black cloth
The Kentish Manor Murders Macmillan 1988 Brown boards
Death's Darkest Face Macmillan 1990 Maroon boards
Something Like a Love Affair Macmillan 1992 Cream boards

Further Information
Julian Symons is a prolific author, acknowledged expert on crime fiction and respected reviewer. His series characters include, Inspector Bland, Francis Quarles and Sheridan Haynes. Generally the UK edition precede the US, there are also a huge number of uncollected stories which were published in newspapers, magazines and periodicals


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page