Arthur Upfield Bibliography

UK - US First Edition Books

Series Character: Inspector Napoleon Bonaparte

The following list of books in order contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying UK first editions in dust jacket
Also runs of clean reprints
If you have anything you may consider selling sell Arthur Upfield books

Buy Books by Arthur Upfield

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The House of Cain Hutchinson 1928 US: 1929 Dorrance. UK DJ 7/6
The Barrakee Mystery Hutchinson 1929 US: 1965 Doubleday as The Lure of the Bush. UK DJ 7/6
The Beach of Atonement Hutchinson 1930 Dust jacket priced at 7/6. Artwork by Robb
The Sands of Windee Hutchinson 1931 Dust jacket priced at 7/6
A Royal Abduction Hutchinson 1932 Dust jacket priced at 7/6
Gripped By Drought Hutchinson 1932 Dust jacket priced at 7/6
Winged Mystery Hamilton 1937 US: 1943 Doubleday as Wings Above the Claypan.
UK not dated. DJ 7/6. Artwork by Stanley Orton Bradshaw
Mr Jelly's Business Hamilton 1938 UK: not listed in ECB. US: 1943 as Murder Down Under
Winds of Evil Hamilton 1939 US: 1944 Doubleday. UK DJ 7/6
The Bone is Pointed Hamilton 1939 US: 1947 Doubleday. UK DJ 7/6
The Mystery of Swordfish Reef Doubleday 1943 UK: 1960 Heinemann
Bushranger of the Skies Doubleday 1944 UK: 1950 Penguin
Death of a Swagman Doubleday 1945 UK: 1946 Aldor
The Devil's Steps Doubleday 1946 UK: 1948 Aldor
An Author Bites the Dust Doubleday 1948  
The Mountains Have a Secret Doubleday 1948 UK: 1952 Heinemann
The Widows of Broome Doubleday 1950 UK: 1951 Heinemann
The Bachelors of Broken Hill Doubleday 1950 UK: 1958 Heinemann
The New Shoe Doubleday 1951 UK: 1952 Heinemann
Venom House Doubleday 1952 UK: 1953 Heinemann
Murder Must Wait Heinemann 1953 US: 1953 Doubleday
Death of a Lake Heinemann 1954 US: 1954 Doubleday
Sinister Stones Doubleday 1954 UK: 1955 Heinemann as Cake in the Hatbox
The Battling Prophet Heinemann 1956  
The Man of Two Tribes Heinemann 1956 US: 1956 Doubleday
Bony Buys a Woman Heinemann 1957 US: 1957 Doubleday as The Bushman Who Came Back
Bony and the Black Virgin Heinemann 1959 US: 1965 Collier
Bony and the Mouse Heinemann 1959 US: 1959 Doubleday as Journey to the Hangman
Bony and the Kelly Gang Heinemann 1960 US: 1960 Doubleday as Valley of Smugglers
Bony and the White Savage Heinemann 1961 US: 1961 Doubleday as The White Savage
The Will of the Tribe Doubleday 1962 US: 1963 Heinemann
Madman's Bend Heinemann 1963 US: 1963 Doubleday as The Body at Madman's Bend
The Lake Frome Monster Heinemann 1966 completed by JL Price and Dorothy Strange

Arthur Upfield Books for Sale

Further Information
Arthur Upfield, born in England in 1890 - 1964, we are indebted to Jan Howard Finder for the birth date, taken from the birth certificate, this corrects the 1888 date quoted by the British Library, Hubin et al.
He went to Australia where he had a series of wild and nomadic jobs before becoming a professional author. He had Inspector Napoleon Bonaparte, Bony, as his main series character, and he featured in most of the novels. His work is still hugely popular today, mainly due to his Australian backdrops. His intimate knowledge of the land and its people come out superbly in his writing. Little surprise then that Upfield is equally popular amongst collectors.

The above bibliography only includes the English and American books, they are listed in order of title appearance, in some cases this may have been the Australian edition. As can be seen, the history is a little messy with priority swapping, alternative titles, all listed. and some titles not seeing dual country release. Collectors who are seeking 1st editions is dust jacket are in for something of a slog if they seek to acquire a full set. Whilst they do not command huge prices some are notoriously difficult to obtain in collectable condition


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Bought     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page