Anthony Price Bibliography

UK and US First Edition Books

Series Characters: Dr David Audley - Colonel Jack Butler - Paul Mitchell

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying the first three UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell books

Books for Sale
We have preconfigured a personalised search
for this author
When you see the results page
you can change the 'sort by'
list to most expensive first or
see the links on the right
to narrow your search
thank you
Buy Books by this Author
Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
The Labyrinth Makers Gollancz 1970 US: 1971 Doubleday
The Alamut Bush Gollancz 1971 Dust jacket priced £1.60US: 1972 Doubleday
Colonel Butler's Wolf Gollancz 1972 US: 1973 Doubleday
October Men Gollancz 1973 US: 1974 Doubleday
Other Paths to Glory Gollancz 1974 US: 1975 Doubleday
Our Man in Camelot Gollancz 1975 US: 1976 Doubleday
War Game Gollancz 1976 US: 1977 Doubleday
The '44 Vintage Gollancz 1978 US: 1978 Doubleday
Tomorrow's Ghost Gollancz 1979 US: 1979 Doubleday
The Hour of the Donkey Gollancz 1980  
Soldier No More Gollancz 1981 US: 1982 Doubleday
The Old Vengeful Gollancz 1982 US: 1983 Doubleday
Gunner Kelly Gollancz 1983 US: 1984 Doubleday
Sion Crossing Gollancz 1984 US: 1984 The Mysterious Press
Here Be Monsters Gollancz 1985 US: 1986 Mysterious Press
For the Good of the State Gollancz 1986 US: 1987 Mysterious Press
A New Kind of War Gollancz 1987 US: 1988 Mysterious Press
A Prospect of Vengeance Gollancz 1988 US Limited edition Armchair Detective Library 1990
The Memory Trap Gollancz 1989 US: The Armchair Detective Library 1991

Anthony Price Biography - More Information

Anthony Price was born in Hertfordshire, England, on 16 August 1928 and died 2019. Educated at Merton College, Oxford.
The books are a mixture of thriller, spy and detective fiction, a borderline case for this site but included on literary merit. His series character is Dr David Audley, who appears in all the books listed. There are three short stories that were published in the Winter's Crimes anthologies, volumes 5, 11 and 15.

Having read all the books by the author I would recommend him but, there's always a but, the history aspect!
"Write about what you know" is a long held piece of advice for would be authors but I've always thought it a potential mistake - you tend to get carried away.
It's always easy to see when a subject is a favourite of the author and in the case of Anthony Price it's military History and if I'm honest . . . Price tends to beat you almost to death with it.
If you love history then it's a field day for you but if not it can get a bit much, that said I've read and enjoyed every one of Anthony Price's Dr Audley books

Book collectors will find the early books scarce of fairly expensive but the later titles are readily available in first edition status and make for a wonderful collection remarkable value for money really.

Buy Books by Anthony Price

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page