Anne Hocking Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1945 UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling Anne Hocking wanted

Buy Books by Anne Hocking

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
A Castle for Sale Methuen 1930 Not in ECB
Mouse Trap Jarrolds 1931 Dust jacket 7/6. as Mona Messer
Cat's Paw Stanley Paul 1933 Apr 33. DW 7/6
Death Duel Stanley Paul 1933 Nov 33. Dustwrapper 7/6
Walk into My Parlour Stanley Paul 1934 Apr 34. Dust cover 7/6
The Hunt is Up Stanley Paul 1934 Sept 34. DW 7/6
Without the Option Stanley Paul 1935 DW 7/6
The House of En-Dor Stanley Paul 1936 Feb 36. DW 7/6
Stranglehold Stanley Paul 1936 Oct 36. DW 7/6
As I was Going to St Ives Stanley Paul 1937 Jul 37. DW 7/6
What a Tangled Web Stanley Paul 1937 Oct 37. DW 7/6
The Little Victims Play Geoffrey Bles 1938 Jan 38. DW 7/6
Ill Deeds Done Geoffrey Bles 1938 Sept 38. Dust jacket 7/6
So Many Doors Geoffrey Bles 1939 May 39. DW 7/6
Old Mrs Fitzgerald Geoffrey Bles 1939 Aug 39. DW 7/6
The Wicked Flee Geoffrey Bles 1940 Mar 40. DW 8/3
Night's Candles Geoffrey Bles 1941 Jan 41. DW 7/6
Miss Milverton Geoffrey Bles 1941 Sept 41. DW 7/6
One Shall be Taken Geoffrey Bles 1942 May 42. DW 8/-
Death Loves a Shining Mark Doubleday 1943 USA
Six Green Bottles Geoffrey Bles 1943 Feb 43. DW 8/-
Nile Green Geoffrey Bles 1943 Actual release Jan 44. DW 8/-
The Vultures Gather Geoffrey Bles 1945 Dust jacket 8/6
Death at the Wedding Geoffrey Bles 1946  
Prussian Blue Geoffrey Bles 1947  
At the Cedars Geoffrey Bles 1949  
Death Disturbs Mr Jefferson Geoffrey Bles 1951 US precedes
Mediterranean Murder Evans 1951  
The Best Laid Plans Geoffrey Bles 1952 US precedes
There's Death in the Cup Evans 1952  
Death Among the Tulips WH Allen 1953  
The Evil that Men Do WH Allen 1953  
And No One Wept WH Allen 1954  
Poison in Paradise WH Allen 1955  
A Reason for Murder WH Allen 1955  
Murder at Mid-Day WH Allen 1956  
Relative Murder WH Allen 1957  
The Simple Way of Poison WH Allen 1957  
Epitaph for a Nurse WH Allen 1958  
Poisoned Chalice John Long 1959 Dust jacket priced 11s 6d
To Cease Upon the Midnight John Long 1959  
The Thin Spun Life John Long 1960  
Candidates for Murder John Long 1961  
He Had to Die John Long 1962 Dust jacket priced 13s 6d
Murder Cries Out John Long 1968 Finished by Evelyn Healey

Anne Hocking Books for Sale

Anne Hocking Buiography - Further Information
Anne Hocking, daughter of the author Joseph, was born in England in the 1890s. Sadly we know little else about her. She did write eleven non-criminous novels, which are not included here. Her main series character was Inspector Austen who was later aided by Inspector Curtis and Sergeant Flyte. Except where stated, UK editions precede, there are several alternative titles and the majority of the WH Allen and Long titles were not published in the USA

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page