crime fiction home

William J Makin Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

The following WJ Makin bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1942 books, UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling books wanted

Buy Books by William J. Makin

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Price of Exile First Novel 1922  
Syncopated Love Jarrolds 1930 ECB states actual release Sept 29. DW 7/6
Murder at Covent Garden Jarrolds 1930 Oct 30. DW 7/6
The Adventures of Red Head of the Red Sea Jarrolds 1933 DW 7/6
The Four Brains Eldon 1934 DW 7/6
Gipsy in Evening Dress Eldon 1935 Sept 35. DW 7/6
Red Mask Hamilton 1935 ECB lists only 'cheap ed' 3/6. Oct 35
The Exploits of Jonathan Jow Pearson 1936 6d
Red Sea Spy Jarrolds 1936 Sept 36. Dust jacket 7/6
Murder at Full Moon Eldon 1937 Mar 37. DW 7/6
Queer Mr Quell Hodder & Stoughton 1937 June 37. Dustwrapper 7/6

Buy Books by William J. Makin

WJ Makin Biography - Further Information
WJ Makin, born 1894 to 1944, had two main series characters, Detective Inspector Evans and Detective Inspector Graves. There were three movies made from either his books or a screenplay.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Bought     Bibliographies     Dust Jackets