crime fiction home

Victor MacClure aka Peter Craig Bibliography

UK and USA First Edition Books

Victor MacClure Series Character: Inspector Archie Burford

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction titles

Books for Sale

Buy Books by Victor MacClure

Buy Books by Victor MacClure

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The "Crying Pig" Murder George G. Harrap 1929
The Counterfeit Murders George G. Harrap 1932
Death Behind the Door George G. Harrap 1933 US edition: 1934 Houghton
The Clue of the Dead Goldfish George G. Harrap 1933 American edition: 1934 Lippincott
Death on the Set George G. Harrap 1934 American edition: 1935 Lippincott
If They Fall George G. Harrap 1935 Listed in Hubin but crime fiction?
An Archie Burford detective story
George G. Harrap 1936
The Diva's Emeralds George G. Harrap 1937
The House of Dearth Hodder and Stoughton 1937 NB: "dearth" is not a typo

Victor MacClure Biography
Victor MacClure born 1887 died 1963 was a pseudonym of Peter Craig
There are several non crime and detective fiction books by this author an dunder this name, not listed here due to the nature of this site
Serious collector interest is mostly focused on these titles with the other books much less sought after, in our experience at least.
As you'd imagine with 1930s crime fiction first editions they are both scarce and relatively expensive in dust jacket


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page