crime fiction home

John Mowbray Bibliography

UK First Edition Books in Order

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

John Mowbray Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Way of the Weasel S. W. Partridge & Co 1922 159 pages ; (8). Not dated re British Library
"A public school story"
Something Like a Hero Cassell 1925
Barkworth's Last Year: a school story Cassell 1925
The Black Sheep of the School Cassell 1926 Cassell's New Boys' Library
Feversham's Fag Cassell 1927 Illustrated by H.M. Brock
Dismal Jimmy of the Fourth Cassell 1928 Illustrated by H.M. Brock
Feversham's Brother Cassell 1929
The Feud at Fennell's Cassell 1930
The Strongest Chap in the School Cassell 1931
Call the Yard Skeffington & Son 1931
On Secret Service Collins 1939 303 pages ; (8)
The Frontier Mystery Collins 1940 256 pages ; (8)
The Megeve Mystery Collins 1941
The Radio Mystery Collins 1941 Reissued by Children's Press c1950

Buy Books by John Mowbray

John Mowbray Author Biography - Information About the Author
John Mowbray is a pseudonym of John Haslette Vahey, born 1881 and died in 1938, he is included in Hubin's crime and mystery reference guide.
This John Mowbray bibliography has gone well beyond Hubin as we've listed all the books held in the British and Scottish national libraries so it should be a complete list of books, not reprints or omnibus editions though.
The books included in Hubin are the last five books in the list.
John Mowbray also wrote as Vernon Loder

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page