crime fiction home

Jerome Odlum Bibliography

US & UK First Edition Books in Order

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Jerome Odlum Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Each Dawn I Die Bobbs-Merrill Co 1938 Dust jacket priced at $2.00
Basis of a film starring James Cagney
Reprinted by Grosset & Dunlap 1938
Nine Lives are Not Enough Sheridan House 1940 UK: TV Boardman 1944
Made into a movie with Ronald Reagan !
Lady Sourdough Macmillan 1941 Frances Ella Fitz as told to Jerome Odlum
Night and No Moon Howell Soskin 1942
The Morgue is Always Open Charles Scribner's 1944 Backdrop is New York City
Made into a film: A Scream in the Dark
Australian paperback by Invincible Press
The Mirabilis Diamond Charles Scribner's 1945 US softcover: Dell Mapback 1949
Australian edition: Invincible Press 1947
"Hollywood P.I. looks for an archeologist"
Two Complete detective Books Real Adventure 1945 Title unknown. Pulp magazine May 1945

Buy Books by Jerome Odlum

Jerome Odlum Author Biography - Information About the Author
Jerome Odlum was born in 1905 and died in 1954, he is listed in Hubin's crime fiction reference guide.
There is a long list of screenplays either written, co-written or inspired by Jerome Odlum.
His books are highly collectable, the early books in dust jacket are quite valuable, helped in no small part as they're also sought after by book collectors who collect in the film genre, especially noir.
The only British edition I can find is Nine Lives are Not Enough, a rare book, I can't recall ever seeing one let alone handling one in many a year. If you do see one it may well be ex-library, get it - you may not have another chance.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page