crime fiction home

David Anthony Bibliography

US & UK First Edition Books in Order

David Anthony Series Characters: Stanley Bass & Morgan Butler

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

David Anthony Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Midnight Lady and the Mourning Man Bobbs Merril 1969 UK: Collins Crime Club 1970
An Academic mystery set in Ohio
Subject of a film The Midnight Man
The Organization Coward McCann 1970 UK: Collins Crime Club 1971
UK dust jacket artwork by Kennneth Farnhill
Blood on a Harvest Moon Coward McCann 1972 UK: Collins Crime Club 1972
Dust jacket priced at 1.50
Stud Game Pocket Books 1978 UK: Collins Crime Club 1977
Dustwrapper priced at 1.50
US edition was a paperback original
Nominated for an Edgar
The Long Hard Cure Collins Crime Club 1979 No US edition found

Buy Books by David Anthony

David Anthony Author Biography - Information About the Author
David Anthony is a pseudonym of William Dale Smith, born 1929 and died in 1986, a HUbin listed crime and mystery author.
Underrated by many but highly esteemed by those aware and those who like the genre, the only complaints I've heard from collecotrs and readers over the years is that David Anthony didn't write more books!
First editions can be found online, reasonably priced too. The British editions make the most attractive set, in fact that would be the only way to have a complete set as for some reason The Long Hard Cure was not published in America.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page