WR Burnett Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying rare pre 1940 UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell mystery books

Books for Sale
We have preconfigured a personalised search
for this author
When you see the results page
you can change the 'sort by'
list to most expensive first or
see the links on the right
to narrow your search
thank you
Buy Books by W.R. Burnett
Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
Little Caesar Cape 1929 DW 7/6
The Silver Eagle Heinemann 1932 DW 7/6
Dark Hazard Heinemann 1934 DW 7/6
High Sierra Heinemann 1940 DW 8/-
The Quick Brown Fox Heinemann 1943 DW 8/6
Nobody Lives Forever Heinemann 1944 DW 8/6
Tomorrow's Another Day Heinemann 1946  
Romelle Heinemann 1947  
The Asphalt Jungle Macdonald 1950  
Little Men Big World Macdonald 1952  
Vanity Row Macdonald 1953  
Big Stan Fawcett 1955 as John Monahan
Underdog Macdonald 1957  
Conant Popular Library 1961 No UK edition
Round the Clock at Volari's Fawcett 1961 No UK edition
The Widow Barony Macdonald 1962 No US edition
The Cool Man Fawcett 1968 No UK edition
Good Bye Chicago Hale 1982  

Further Information
WR Burnett was one of the most influential figures in the formation of the hard boiled school. Three of his novels were also adapted into important and successful films. The books are not mysteries in the traditional sense, but crime novels and amongst the first to display the hard edged and clipped dialogue which became typical of the hard boiled school. He wrote several uncollected short stories, most of which appeared in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, as well as a further 18 non-criminous novels and numerous screenplays. William Riley Burnett was born in America in 1899 and passed away in 1982.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page