crime fiction home

Vicars Bell Bibliography

UK First Edition Books in Order

Vicars Bell Series Character: Dr Baynes

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Vicars Bell Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Death Under the Stars Faber 1949
Little Gaddesden Rest Same 1949 The story of an English parish
Two By Day and One By Night 1950
This Way Home 1950 The story of a voyage in search of the earth
Death has Two Doors Faber 1950 A Douglas Baynes mystery
The Dodo 1950 The story of a village schoolmaster
Death Darkness Council 1952
On Learning the English Tongue 1953
Death and the Night Watches Faber 1955 Dust jacket artist Charles Mozley
To Meet Mr. Ellis 1956 Little Gaddesden in the eighteenth century
That Night 1959 A play for the Nativity
Death Walks by the River 1959 Dustwrapper artwork by John Meade
Orlando & Rosalind : three tales Faber 1960 Illustrated by Dorothea Patterson
Steep Ways and Narrow 1963 A layman's autobiography
The Flying Cat Faber 1964 Illustrated by Dorothea Patterson
Prayers for Every Day OUP 1965 Edited by Vicars Bell

Buy Books by Vicars Bell

Vicars Bell Author Biography - Information About the Author
Vicars Walker Bell was born in 1904, died in 1988 and is listed in Hubin's crime fiction reference guide.
For the sake of a complete list of books by Vicars Bell we've included every book and publication held by the British Library in this bibliography, many are non-criminous, the crime fiction books are easily told by their titles and they all feature Dr Baynes.
The non-mystery books are relatively easy to find online and modestly priced. The mystery fiction books however are generally scarce to rare in dust jacket and sought after by collectors, expect them to be priced accordingly in nice collectable condition.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page