crime fiction home

Ted Allbeury Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

Ted Allbeury Series Character: Tad Anders

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1940 UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell mystery books

Buy Books by Ted Allbeury

Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
A Choice of Enemies Peter Davies 1973  
Snowball Davies 1974  
Palomino Blonde Davies 1975 US: Omega Minus
The Special Collection Davies 1975  
Where all the Girls are Sweeter Davies 1975 as Richard Butler
Italian Assets Davies 1975 as Richard Butler
Moscow Quadrille Davies 1976  
The Only Good German Davies 1976  
The Man with the President's Mind Davies 1977  
The Lantern network Davies 1978  
The Alpha List Hart Davis 1979  
Consequence of Fear Hart Davis 1979  
The Twentieth Day of January Granada 1980  
Codeword Cromwell Granada 1980 as Patrick Kelly
The Other Side of Silence Granada 1981  
The Secret Whispers Granada 1981  
The Lonely Margins Granada 1981 as Patrick Kelly
Shadow of Shadows Granada 1982  
All Our Tomorrows Granada 1982  
Pay Any Price Granada 1983  
The Girl from Addis Granada 1984  
The Judas Factor NEL 1984  
No Place to Hide New English Library 1984 Also issued by Methuen 1988 as part of a compendium
Children of Tender Years New English Library 1985  
The Choice Guild Publishing 1986  
The Seeds of Treason New English Library 1986  
The Crossing New English Library 1987  
A Wilderness of Mirrors Guild Publishing 1988  
Deep Purple New English Library 1989  
A Time Without Shadows New English Library 1990  
Other Kinds of Treason Hodder 1990  
The Dangerous Edge New English Library 1991  
Show Me A Hero New English Library 1992  
The Line Crosser Hodder & Stoughton 1993  
As Time Goes By Hodder & Stoughton 1994  
Beyond the Silence Hodder & Stoughton 1995  
The Long Run Hodder & Stoughton 1996  
Aid and Comfort Hodder & Stoughton 1997 British Library showing only Coronet paperback
Shadow of a Doubt Hodder & Stoughton 1998  
The Reckoning Hodder & Stoughton 1999  
Never Look Back Hodder & Stoughton 2000  
The Assets Hodder & Stoughton 2000  

Ted Allbeury Biography - Further Information
Ted Allbeury, who also writes under the pseudonyms Richard Butler and Patrick Kelly, was born in England in 1917 and died in 2005. His novels are somewhat borderline for this genre, given the heavy leaning towards espionage and intelligence. The author himself was an army intelligence officer during the Second World War. Apart from the first book, UK editions precede the US. The books written under his other pen names appear not to have been published in the USA.

Those interested in collecting the first edition books by Ted Allbeury are well-served as a full set not only looks impressive but is also financially viable as all his books are reasonably priced so collectors should not consider inferior condition copies.

I've personally read almost all the books listed in the bibliography above and found them to be better than I'd anticipated, hence reading so many. That said, I wouldn't put the author in the first division of spy or espionage authors but for heavy readers of the genre they're well worth a go with some now old enough to have a certain "period charm" for certain age groups


Buy Books by Ted Allbeury

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page