Crime Fiction

Sydney Horler

UK - US First Edition Books

This Sydney Horler bibliography or checklist features only the mystery titles by the author.
There are at least 27 other novels of a non-mystery nature as well as six plays and some non-fiction works
including the rather aptly titles Writing for Money published in 1932
There is also an authenticate example of the author's autograph at the bottom of the bibliography.
We are always interesting in buying pre 1942 books, UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling books wanted

Buy Books By Sydney Horler

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Breed of the Beverleys Odhams Press 1921  
Love, The Sportsman Hodder & Stoughton 1923 Reissued in 1934 by Collins as
The Man with Two Faces
The Mystery of No. I As Above 1925 US: 1926 Doran
as The Order of the Octopus
False- Face As Above 1926 US: 1926 Doran
The House of Secrets As Above 1926 American: 1927 Doran
The Black Heart Hodder & Stoughton 1927 USA: 1928 Doubleday
In the Dark As Above 1927 US: 1928 Doubleday as
as A Life for Sale
Vivanti As Above 1927 American: 1927 Doran
Chipstead of the Lone Hand Hodder & Stoughton 1928 US: 1929 Holt
The 13th Hour. Readers' Library 1928  
The Curse of Doone Hodder & Stoughton 1928 US: 1930 Mystery League
Miss Mystery As Above 1928 US: 1935 Little Brown
The Secret Service Man As Above 1929 US: 1930 Knopf
Heart Cut Diamond As Above 1929  
The Worst Man in the World As Above 1929  
Lady of the Night Hodder & Stoughton 1929 US: 1930 Knopf
Peril ! Mystery League 1930 UK: 1931 Hodder as
Cavalier of Chance
Checkmate Hodder & Stoughton 1930  
The Screaming Skull As Above 1930  
Danger's Bright Eyes Hodder & Stoughton 1930 US: 1932 Harper
The Evil Chateau Hodder & Stoughton 1930 US: 1931 Knopf
The Murder Mask Readers' Library 1930  
Adventure Calling ! Hodder & Stoughton 1931  
The Man Who Walked with Death Knopf 1931 UK: 1942 H & S
Princess after Dark Hodder & Stoughton 1931 US: 1932 Mystery League as
The False Purple
The Spy Hodder & Stoughton 1931  
The Mystery Mission H&S 1931  
The Temptation of Mary Gordon Newnes 1931  
Wolves of the Night Readers Library 1931  
Vivanti Returns Hodder & Stoughton 1931  
Gentleman in Waiting Ernest Benn 1932  
High Stakes Collins 1932 US: 1935 Little Brown
Horror's Head Hodder & Stoughton 1932  
My Lady Dangerous Hodder & Stoughton 1932 US: 1933 Harper
Tiger Standish John Long 1932 USA: 1933 Doubleday
The Formula John Long 1933 US: 1934 Little Brown as
The Charlatan
Harlequin of Death John Long 1933 US: 1933 Brown
Huntress of Death Hodder & Stoughton 1933  
The Menace Collins 1933 US: 1933 Brown
The Man Who Shook the Earth Hutchinson 1933  
Beauty and the Policeman Ditto 1933  
The Man from Scotland Yard Hutchinson 1934  
The Secret Agent Collins 1934 US: 1934 Brown
S.O.S. Hutchinson 1934  
The Prince of Plunder Hodder & Stoughton 1934 US: 1934 Brown
Tiger Standish Comes Back Hutchinson 1934  
Dying to Live Ditto 1935  
The Lessing Murder Case Collins 1935  
Lord of Terror Collins 1935 US: 1937 Curl
The Mystery of the Seven Cafes H&S 1935 Blue cloth, black titles. Jacket 3/6
The House in Greek Street H&S 1935  
The Vampire Hutchinson 1935 US: 1974 Bookfinger
The Stroke Sinister Ditto 1935  
Death at Court Lady Collins 1936  
The Grim Game Collins 1936 US: 1936 Brown
The Trailer Collins 1936 As Above
The Hidden Hand As Above 1937  
Instruments of Darkness Hodder & Stoughton 1937  
They Called Him Nighthawk As Above 1937  
The Destroyer and The Red-Haired Death As Above 1938  
The Evil Messenger As Above 1938  
Dark Journey As Above 1938  
Knaves & Co Collins 1938  
A Gentleman for the Gallows Hodder & Stoughton 1938 US: 1938 Curl
The Phantom Forward As Above 1939  
Terror on Tip-Toe As Above 1939  
Tiger Standish Takes the Field As Above 1939  
Here Is an SOS As Above 1939  
The Man Who Died Twice As Above 1939  
The Enemy Within the Gales As Above 1940  
The Return of Nighthawk As Above 1940  
Tiger Standish Steps on It Hodder & Stoughton 1940  
Enter the Ace As Above 1941  
Nighthawk Strikes to Kill As Above 1941  
Tiger Standish Does His Stuff As Above 1941  
Danger Preferred Hodder & Stoughton 1942  
Fear Walked Behind Robert Hale 1942  
The Man in White Staples 1942  
The Night of Reckoning Eyre & Spottiswoode 1942  
The Hostage Quality Press 1943  
High Hazard Hodder & Stoughton 1943  
The Man Who Preferred Cocktails Crowther 1943  
Murder Is So Simple Eyre & Spottiswoode 1943  
Tiger Standish Has a Party Todd 1943  
The Lady with the Limp H&S 1944  
The Man with Dry Hands Eyre & Spottiswoode 1944  
Nighthawk Mops Up H&S 1944  
Murder for Sale Vallancey Press 1945  
A Bullet for the Countess Quality Press 1945  
Virus X As Above 1945  
Dark Danger. Mystery House 1945 UK ??
Terror Comes to Twelvetrees Eyre & Spottiswoode 1945  
Great Adventure and Out of a Dark Sky Robert Hale 1946 2 stories
Corridors of Fear Quality Press 1947  
Ring Up Nighthawk Hodder & Stoughton 1947  
The Closed Door Pilot Press 1948  
Exit the Disguiser Hodder & Stoughton 1948  
The House with the Light Hodder & Stoughton 1948  
The Man Who Did Not Hang Quality Press 1948  
The Man Who Loved Spiders Barker 1949  
They Thought He Was Dead Hodder & Stoughton 1949  
Whilst the Crowd Roared Archer Press 1949  
A Man of Affairs Pilot Press 1949  
Master of Venom Hodder & Stoughton 1949  
The Blanco Case Quality Press 1950  
The High Game Redman 1950  
The House of the Uneasy Dead Hodder & Stoughton 1950  
Nap on Nighthawk Hodder & Stoughton 1950  
Scarlet ! Special Branch Foulsham 1950  
The Devil Comes to Bolobyn Marshall 1951  
The Man in the Cloak Eyre and Spottiswoode 1951  
The House of Jackals Hodder & Stoughton 1951  
The Man of Evil Barker 1951  
Murderer at Large Hodder & Stoughton 1951  
The Mystery of Mr. X Foulsham 1951  
Scarlett Gets the Kidnapper Foulsham 1951  
These Men and Women Museum Press 1951  
The Blade Is Bright Eyre and Spottiswoode 1952  
The Face of Stone Barker 1952  
Hell's Brew Hodder & Stoughton 1952  
The Man Who Used Perfume Wingate 1952  
The Mocking Face of Murder Hale 1952  
The Web Redman 1952  
The Cage Hale 1953  
The Dark Night Hodder & Stoughton 1953 Red cloth, black titles. Jacket 10/6
Death of a Spy Museum Press 1953  
The Secret Hand Barker 1954  
Nighthawk Swears Vengeance Hodder & Stoughton 1954  
The Man in the Hood Redman 1955  
The Man in the Shadows Hale 1955  
The Dark Hostess Eyre and Spottiswoode 1955  

Buy Books By Sydney Horler

Sydney Horler Biography - Further Information
Sydney Horler, born 18 July 1888 in Essex England and died in 1954, also wrote under the names Peter Cavendish and Martin Heritage. To say he was prolific is clearly an understatement and he was in direct competition with Edgar Wallace both in terms of style and output !

Series Characters
 The Ace.  Sir Marker Bellamy.  Brett Carstairs.  Bunny Chipstead.   Sir Brian Fordinghame.  Gerald Lissendale. 
Chief Constable Meatyard. Nighthawk aka Gerald Frost.  Sebastian Quin. Peter Scarlett.  Tiger Standish.
 Baron Veseloffsky.  Paul Vivanti.  Robert Wynnton


Authenticate Signed Sydney Horler
Author's Autograph - Signature

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Bought     Bibliographies     Dust Jackets