crime fiction home

Sax Rohmer Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1940 UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling Sax Rohmer wanted

Buy Books by Sax Rohmer

Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
The Mystery of Dr Fu Manchu Methuen 1913  
The Sins of Severac Bablon Cassell 1914  
The Yellow Claw Methuen 1915  
The Expoits of Captain O' Hagan Jarrolds 1916  
The Devil Doctor Methuen 1916  
The Si Fan Mysteries Methuen 1917  
Tales of Secret Egypt Methuen 1918  
Brood of the Witch Pearson 1918  
The Quest of the Scared Slipper Pearson 1919  
Dope Cassell 1919  
The Golden Scorpion Methuen 1919  
The Green Eyes of Bast Cassell 1920  
The Dream Detective Jarrolds 1920  
The Haunting of Low Fennel Pearson 1920  
Bat-Wing Cassell 1921  
Fire Tongue Cassell 1921  
Tales of Chinatown Cassell 1922  
Grey Face Cassell 1924  
Yellow Shadows Cassell 1925 DW 7/6
Moon of Madness Cassell 1927 DW 6/-
She Who Sleeps Cassell 1928 DW 7/6
The Emperor of America Cassell 1929 DW 7/6
The Day the World Ended Cassell 1930 DW 7/6
Daughter of Fu Manchu Cassell 1931 DW 7/6
Yu'an Hee See Laughs Cassell 1932 Released May 32. DW 7/6
Tales of East and West Cassell 1932 Released Sept 32. DW 7/6
The Mask of Fu Manchu Cassell 1933 Released Feb 33. DW 7/6
The Bride of Fu Manchu Cassell 1933 Released Oct 33. DW 7/6
The Trail of Fu Manch Cassell 1934 DW 7/6
The Bat Flies Low Cassell 1935 Released Feb 36. DW 7/6
President Fu Manchu Cassell 1936 Released Sept 36. DW 7/6
White Velvet Cassell 1936 Released Jan 37. DW 7/6
Salute to Bazarada Cassell 1939 Released Mar 39. DW 7/6
The Drums of Fu Manchu Cassell 1939 Released Sept 39. DW 7/6
The Island of Fu Manchu Cassell 1941 Not in English Catalogue of Books
Egyptian Nights Hale 1944 DW 8/6
Seven Sins Cassell 1944 Released Jan '45. DW 8/6
Shadow of Fu Manchu Jenkins 1949  
Hangover House Jenkins 1950  
Sins of Sumuru Jenkins 1950  
Wulfheim Jarrolds 1950 as Michael Furey
Slaves of Sumuru Jenkins 1952  
Virgin in Flames Jenkins 1953  
the Moon is Red Jenkins 1954  
Sand and Satin Jenkins 1955  
Sinister Madonna Jenkins 1956  
Dr Fu Manchu Jenkins 1957  
Emperor Fu Manchu Jenkins 1959  
The Secret of Holm Peel Ace 1970 US only

Further Information
Sax Rohmer, pseudonym for Arthur Henry Sarsfield Ward, was born in Birmingham, England, on 15 February 1883. Rohmer has become synonymous with the 'Yellow Peril' style of mystery novel, and, although he never started the genre, seems to have born the brunt of the subsequent criticism in more enlightened times. Initially the books were first published in the UK, but from 1927 onwards the majority have US precedence. The author did move to New York at some point in his life which may well account for the switch. He died in 1959.


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page