crime fiction home

Max Afford Bibliography

UK & US First Edition Books in Order

Max Afford Series Character: Jeffery Blackburn

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Max Afford Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Blood on his hands! A detective novel John Long 1936 Set in Melbourne, Australia
The Dead are Blind John Long 1937
Death's Mannikins John Long 1937 US: Appleton-Century, 1937
Fly by Night John Long 1942 Also published by Angus & Robertson, 1942 as
Owl of Darkness
Lady in Danger A comedy triller in three acts Mulga 1944 Play: A comedy triller in three acts
Written with Alexander Kirkland
BL also has a Samuel french play dated 1946
Mischief in the Air Univ of Queensland Radio and stage plays

Buy Books by Max Afford

Max Afford Author Biography - Information About the Author
Max Afford was born in 1906 and died in 1954 according to the British Library, his series character is Jeffery Blackburn who appears in all the novels, he is listed in Hubin.
The last two books were first published in Australia.
Book collectors looking to put together a full set of first editions in dust jacket have a daunting task, the books are genuinely rare, always were in our experience,even decades ago.
The American edition of Death's Mannikins does turn up in a wrapper, due to larger US print runs on ehas to presume.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page