crime fiction home

Maurice Caval Bibliography

UK First Edition Books in Order

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Maurice Caval Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Burning Passion Kaye Publications 1953
Desire Me Kaye Publications 1953 (Translated from the French.)
The Nude in the Mirror Kaye Publications 1953
My Lovers Kaye Publications 1953
Académie of love Kaye Publications 1954 Academy of Love

Cover Artist: Unknown

Buy Books by Maurice Caval

Maurice Caval Author Biography - Information About the Author
Maurice Caval is, I feel sure, a pseudonym, following a craze this publisher had at the time of claiming authors to be French or books having been translated from French. The censorship at the time being somewhat draconian in Britain whilst France was well known for being far more liberal in what it allowed into print - this presumably made the book buyer think they were in for something a bit racier than normal.
I cannot find Maurice Caval in any copyright catalogues which means, pen names and potentially other books remain a mystery.
The list of books above contains all the titles held in the British Library and Oxford University Library, I've found no others.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page