crime fiction home

Mary Kelly Bibliography

UK & US First Edition Books

Mary Kelly Series Characters: Inspector Brett Nightingale - Hedley Nicholson

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Mary Kelly Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
A Cold Coming Secker & Warburg 1956 US: Walker 1968
Dead Man's Riddle Secker & Warburg 1957 US: Walker 1967
Academic mystery set in Edinburgh
The Christmas Egg Secker & Warburg 1958 Reprinted by British Library Crime Classics
This includes an excellent forward by Martin Edwards
US: Holt Rinehart 1966
The Spoilt Kill Michael Joseph 1961 Winner of the CWA Gold Dagger
US: British Book Centre 1961
Due to a Death Michael Joseph 1961 US: Mill 1962 as The Dead of Summer
March to the Gallows Michale Joseph 1964 US: Holt Rinehart 1965
The Dead Corse Michael Joseph 1966 Dust jacket priced 21s
US: Holt Rinehart 1967
Write on Both Sides of the Paper Michael Joseph 1969 US: London House 1970
The Twenty-Fifth Hour Macmillan 1971 US: Walker 1972
That Girl in the Alley Macmillan 1974 US: Walker 1974

Buy Books by Mary Kelly

Mary Kelly Author Biography - Information About the Author
Mary Kelly was born in 1927 and died in 2017.
Mary Kelly wrote underrated suspense novels and is deserving of greater recognition. Her books pay more attention to characters than plot which tends to give them a more "literary" feel rather than simple whodunnits. Recommended titles are Write on Both Sides of the Paper and The Twenty-Fifth Hour.
Interest amongst book collectors is not what it should be, in our opnion, this is, perhaps, due to the nature of the dust jacket artwork and designs, not overly inspiring . . .
This means that the books are available, for reasonable prices online, in first edition status with original dustwrappers.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page