crime fiction home

Lionel Black Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1940 UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell mystery books

Buy Books by Lionel Black

Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
A Provincial Crime Cassell 1960 No US edition
Chance to Die Cassell 1965 No US edition
The Bait Cassell 1966 No US edition
Two Ladies in Verona Cassell 1967 US: Lady is a Spy
Outbreak Cassell 1968  
Swinging Murder Cassell 1969  
Breakaway Collins 1970 US: Flood
Death has Green Fingers Collins 1971 as Anthony Matthews
Ransom for a Nude Collins 1972  
Life and Death of Peter Wade Collins 1973  
Death by Hoax Collins 1974  
Arafat is Next Collins 1975 US precedes
A Healthy Way to Die Collins 1976  
The Foursome Collins 1978  
The Penny Murders Collins 1979  
The Eve of the Wedding Collins 1980  
The Rumanian Circle Collins 1981  

Further Information
Lionel Black, real name Dudley Barker, was born in England in 1910 and wrote under three names. His mystery fiction was all under the name of Lionel Black and oly those books are included here. His main series characters were Superintendent Francis Foy, Emma Greaves and Kate Theobald. Apart from one book, the English editions were published first with some books having no US release and a couple of alternative titles, all of which are noted above.


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page