crime fiction home

Laurence Payne Bibliography

UK & US First Edition Books in Order

Laurence Payne Series Characters: Chief Inspector Sam Birkett & Sergeant Saunders - Mark Savage

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Laurence Payne Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Nose on My Face Hodder & Stoughton 1961 Reprinted by Thriller Book Club 1961
US: Macmillan 1962
UK paperback Penguin Books, 1964
Also as The First Body Avon 1964
A movie Girl in the Headlines with Jeremy Brett!
Or The Model Murder Case in the US
Too Small for His Shoes Hodder & Stoughton 1962 "A novel of detection"
Dustwrapper artwork by John Woodcock
US: Macmillan 1963
Deep and Crisp and Even Hodder & Stoughton 1964 "A Sam Birkett story"
Birds in the Belfry Hodder & Stoughton 1966 US: Lippincott 1967
Spy for Sale Hodder & Stoughton 1969 US: Doubleday 1970
Reissued by Thriller Book Club 1970
Even My Foot's Asleep Hodder & Stoughton 1971 Dust jacket by by Julie Underwood
Take the Money and Run Hodder & Stoughton 1982 US: Doubleday Crime Club 1984
Malice in Camera Hodder & Stoughton 1983 US: Doubleday Crime Club 1985
Vienna Blood Hodder & Stoughton 1984 US: Doubleday Crime Club 1986
Dead for a Ducat Hodder & Stoughton 1985 US: Doubleday Crime Club 1986
Late Knight Hodder & Stoughton 1987 US: Doubleday Crime Club 1986
As Knight Fall

Buy Books by Laurence Payne

Laurence Payne Author Biography - Information About the Author
Laurence Payne, born 1919 and died 2009 according to the British Library, is a Hubin listed crime and mystery author.
The Laurence Payne first edition books in dust jacket can all be found, online at least, at reasonable prices and will make an attractive set of books.
Books published in America are noted when applicable, they were all published after the British editions.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page