crime fiction home

Josephine Tey Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are interesting in buying pre 1940 UK firsts in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling mystery fiction wanted

Buy Books by Josephine Tey

Title Published By Date Issue Points - Notes
A Shilling for Candles Methuen 1936 DJ 7/6. Yellow cloth, blue lettering
Dust jacket artwork by Nick
Miss Pym Disposes Peter Davies 1946 Purple cloth, white / pink lettering
DJ 8/6. Book dated 1946 but
ECB says published date May 1947
The Franchise Affair Peter Davies 1948 Red boards white titles. Jacket 9/6
Dust jacket artwork by Ray Russell
Brat Farrar Peter Davies 1949 Brown cloth, gilt lettering. Jacket 9/6
To Love and be Wise Peter Davies 1950 Green/red. Jacket 9/6
The Daughter of Time Peter Davies 1951 Red/black. Jacket 9/6
The Singing Sands Peter Davies 1952 fawn/brown. Jacket 10/6

Josephine Tey as Gordon Daviot

Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
The Man in the Queue Methuen 1929 DJ 3/6. Brown cloth black lettering

Further Information
Josephine Tey, real name Elizabeth Mackintosh wrote only eight mystery fiction titles. Six of them featured her series character the policeman Alan Grant. A much underrated author deserving of a wider audience


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page