crime fiction home

John & Emery Bonett Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

Series Character: Professor Mandrake

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1940 UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell mystery books

Buy Books by John and Emery Bonett

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Dead Lion Michael Joseph 1949 Dust jacket artwork by Olga Lehmann
A Banner for Pegasus Michael Joseph 1951 US book title: Not in the Script
No Grave for a Lady Michael Joseph 1960 Dust jacket artwork by H. Bridgeman Grimley
US precedes
Better Dead Michael Joseph 1964 US title: Better Off Dead
The Private Face of Murder Michael Joseph 1966 Inspector Borges of the Spanish Criminal Police
This Side Murder Michael Joseph 1967 US: Murder on Costa Brava
The Sound of Murder George Harrap 1970  
No Time to Kill Harrap 1972  
Perish the Thought Robert Hale 1984  

Further Information
John & Emery Bonett were the noms de plume of John Coulson and Felicity Carter, whose series characters were Inspector Borges and Professor Mandrake. The books are perhaps better known to collectors than readers. This is a shame, as their characters, especially Mandrake, are well constructed and set in well plotted scenarios. English editions, except for one, precede and print runs were relatively small, making them uncommon in collectable condition. The hyperlinked titles above go to pictures of the first two books in their classic jackets.


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page