crime fiction home

John Welcome Bibliography

UK & US First Edition Books in Order

John Welcome Series Characters: Richard Graham - Simon Harald

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

John Welcome Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Red Coats Galloping Constable 1949
Mr Merston's Money Constable 1951 Book set in Ireland
Mr Merston's Hounds Herbert Jenkins 1953
The Cheltenham Gold Cup Constable 1957 The story of a great steeplechase
Run for Cover Faber 1958 US: Knopf, New York, 1959
Best Motoring Stories Faber 1959 Foreword by John Welcome
Stop At Nothing Faber 1959
Best Gambling Stories Faber 1961 Foreword by John Welcome
Beware of Midnight Faber 1961 US: Alfred A. Knopf, NY (1961)
Best Legal Stories Faber 1962 Foreward by John Welcome
Cheating at Cards Faber 1963 The cases in court
Best Secret Service Stories Faber 1964 Edited by John Welcome
Best Crime Stories Faber 1964 Introduction by John Welcome
Hard to Handle Faber 1964
Wanted for Killing Faber 1965 US: Holt, Rinehart & Winston 1967
Best Crime Stories 2 Faber 1966 Introduction by John Welcome
Fred Archer: His life and times Faber 1967
Best Spy Stories Faber 1967 Introduction by John Welcome
Best Smuggling Stories Faber 1967 Introduction only
Best Crime Stories 3 Faber 1968 Introduction by John Welcome
Hell is Where You Find it Faber 1968 "A Richard Graham adventure"
On the Stretch Faber 1969
Ten of the Best Faber 1969 Editor, short stories
Neck or Nothing Faber 1970 Extraordinary life & times of Bob Sievier
Best Crime Stories 4 Faber 1971 Introduction by John Welcome
The Welcome Collection Michael Joseph 1972 Fourteen horse racing stories
Go for Broke Faber 1972 US: Walker & Co (1972)
A Light-Hearted Guide to British Racing Macdonald and Jane's 1975 Foreword, Dick Francis
Grand National Hamish Hamilton 1976 US Simon & Schuster (1977)
Bellary Bay Hamish Hamilton 1979 Dust jacket artist Jonathan Adams
US: Atheneum, 1979
Infamous Occasions Michael Joseph 1980 Racing scandals & sensations down the ages
Irish Horse Racing Gill & Macmillan 1982 An illustrated history
The Sporting World of R.S. Surtees OUP 1982 Oxford University Press
Snaffles Stanley Paul 1987 With Rupert Collens
A Painted Devil Collins Crime Club 1988 A legal thriller book
Snaffles on Hunting Lambourn 1989 With Rupert Collens
Reasons of Hate Collins 1990
Kipling on Horses and Horsemen Marlborough 1992 Selected, introduced by John Welcome
Royal Stakes Sinclair Stevenson 1993

Buy Books by John Welcome

John Welcome Author Biography - Information About the Author
John Welcome is a pseudonym of John Needham Huggard Brennan, born in 1914 and died in 2010 according to the British Library, he is a Hubin listed crime and mystery author.
Horse-racing runs throughout most of these books and related story collections edited by the author.
The books are available, readily via online booksellers and modestly priced.
We've included all the books held by the British Library and the Oxford Library which has taken this bibliography well beyond the books listed by Hubin.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page