crime fiction home

John Jay Chichester Bibliography

US and UK First Edition Books

John Jay Chichester Series Characters:
Maxwell Sanderson and Jimmy "Wiggly" Price

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the crime and mystery fiction titles

Books for Sale

Buy Books by John Jay Chichester

Buy Books by John Jay Chichester

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Porcelain Mask Chelsea House 1924 UK: edition 1925 Herbert Jenkins
Illustrated boards
The House of the Moving Room Chelsea House 1926 UK: edition 1926 Hutchinson
The Bigamist Chelsea House 1925 UK: edition 1927 Hutchinson
The Silent Cracksman Chelsea House 1929 UK: edition Hutchinson 1929
Rogues of Fortune Chelsea House 1929 UK: edition 1930 Hutchinson
Sanderson: Master Rogue Chelsea House 1929 UK: edition 1930 Hutchinson
The King of Diamonds Chelsea House 1930 UK: edition 1931 Hutchinson
Sanderson's Diamond Loot Chelsea House 1935 UK: edition 1935 Hutchinson

John Jay Chichester Biography
John Jay Chichester as an author is, ironically, something of a mystery I'm afraid.
As to the books. American first editions precede the English in every case.
The three books published in 1929 may not be chronological.
There is a short story "The Unconscious Accomplice" by John Jay Chichester in Detective Story Magazine: April 20th 1929
First editions in jackets are rare, UK editions much rarer than US, and there are some very attractive dust jackets


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page