crime fiction home

Jack S. Scott Bibliography

UK & US First Edition Books

Jack S. Scott Series Character: Detective Inspector Alf Rosher

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Jack S. Scott Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Poor Old Lady's Dead Robert Hale 1976 US: Harper 1976
A Better Class of Business Robert Hale 1976 US: Harper 1977 as
The Bastard's Name was Bristow
The Shallow Grave Robert Hale 1977 US: Harper 1978
US dust jacket art by Gloria Singer
A walk in Dead Man's Wood W.H. Allen 1978
A Clutch of Vipers Collins Crime Club 1979 US: Harper 1979
The Gospel Lamb Collins Crime Club 1980 US: Harper 1980
A Distant View of Death Collins Crime Club 1981 US: Ticknor & Fields 1981 as
The View form Deacon Hill
An Uprush of Mayhem Collins Crime Club 1982 US: Ticknor & Fields 1982
The Local Lads: a Rosher novel Collins Crime Club 1982 US: Dutton 1983
All the Pretty People: a Rosher novel Collins Crime Club 1983 US: St Martin's Press 1984
Corporal Smithers, Deceased Gollancz 1983 St James, wrongly, calls for Collins
US: St Martin's Press 1983
A Time of fine Weather Gollancz 1984 US: St Martin's Press 1985
A Death in Irish Town Collins Crime Club 1984
A Little Darling Dead Collins Crime Club 1985
A Knife Between the Ribs Collins Crime Club 1986

Buy Books by Jack S. Scott

Jack S. Scott Author Biography - Information About the Author
Jack S. Scott is a pseudonym of Jonathan Escott who also writes as Jason Leonard, born 1922 and died in 1987.
He served in the Army Photographic Unit during World War II from 1941 to 1946.
There was a time when I used to think no secondhand bookshop's crime fiction section was complete without a copy of A Clutch of Vipers!
The UK first edition books, the above notwithstanding, are not actually that common, unlike the American publications (much larger print runs)

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page