crime fiction home

HRF Keating Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

Series Characters: Inspector Ghote - Harriet Martens

Books for Sale
A huge selection for both the collector and the reader
An absolute classic author in the crime and mystery genre and one not to be missed
A realistic proposition for book collectors too in terms of price
Paperback books, large print and audio books are available for the reader too
Buy Books by H.R.F. Keating

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Death and the Visiting Fireman Gollancz 1959
Zen there was Murder Gollancz 1960
A Rush on the Ultimate Gollancz 1961
The Dog it was that Died Gollancz 1962
Death of a Fat God Collins Crime Club 1963
The Perfect Murder Collins Crime Club 1964 CWA Gold Dagger winner
Is Skin Deep Fatal Collins Crime Club 1965
Inspector Ghote's Good Crusade Collins Crime Club 1966
Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes Collins Crime Club 1968
Inspector Ghote Hunts the Peacock Collins Crime Club 1968
Inspector Ghote Plays a Joker Collins Crime Club 1969
Inspector Ghote Breaks an Egg Collins Crime Club 1970
Inspector Ghote Goes by Train Collins Crime Club 1971 Dust jacket artist Kenneth Farnhill
Inspector Ghote Trusts the Heart Collins Crime Club 1972
Bats Fly up for Inspector Ghote Collins Crime Club 1974
A Remarkable Case of Burglary Collins Crime Club 1975
Murder by Death Collins Crime Club 1976
Filmi Filmi Inspector Ghote Collins Crime Club 1976
Inspector Ghote Draws a Line Collins Crime Club 1979
The Murder of a Maharajah Collins Crime Club 1980 CWA Gold Dagger winner
Go West Inspector Ghote Collins Crime Club 1981
The Sheriff of Bombay Collins Crime Club 1984
Mrs Craggs Crimes Cleaned Up Enright 1985
Under a Monsoon Cloud Hutchinson 1986
The Body in the Billiard Room Hutchinson 1987
Dead on Time Hutchinson 1988
Inspector Ghote His Life and Crimes Hutchinson 1989
The Iciest Sin Hutchinson 1990
Inspector Ghote and Some Others Eurographica 1991
Cheating Death Hutchinson 1992
The Rich Detective Macmillan 1993
Doing Wrong Macmillan 1994 Date re British Library
The Good Detective Macmillan 1995
The Bad Detective Macmillan 1996
Asking Questions Macmillan 1996
The Soft Detective Macmillan 1997
Bribery Corruption Also Macmillan 1999 British Library showing only paperback edition
Jack the Lady Killer Flambard Press 1999 Paperback first edition book
Breaking and Entering Macmillan 2000
The Hard Detective Macmillan 2000 Harriet Martens
Detective in Love Macmillan 2001 Harriet Martens
A Detective Under Fire Macmillan 2002 Harriet Martens
The Dreaming Detective Macmillan 2003 Harriet Martens
A Detective at Death's Door Macmillan 2004 Harriet Martens
One Man and His Bomb Allison & Busby 2006 Harriet Martens
Rules, Regs and Rotten Eggs Allison & Busby 2007 Harriet Martens
A Small Case for Inspector Ghote Allison & Busby 2009
A Kind of Light Endeavour Press 2017 Paperback original re British Library

HRF Keating also wrote as Evelyn Hervey

Evelyn Hervey Bibliography

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Governess Weidenfeld 1984
The Man of Gold Weidenfeld 1985
Into the Valley of Death Weidenfeld 1986

Buy Books by H.R.F. Keating

H.R.F. Keating Biography - Information About the Author
Henry Reymond Fitzwalter Keating, born 1926 and died 2011, was a very important figure in the history of crime fiction with his Inspector Ghote novels really bring something different to the table.
The books provide a nice bridge between the Golden Age style and more modern detective fiction which tends to be a lot less temperate.

Whilst the early books are not cheap, in nice condition with dust jackets, they are not yet prohibitive for collectors which makes a full set of first editions a realistic ambition and a wonderful sight once shelved.

see also

HRF Keating's 100 Best Mystery Novels

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page