crime fiction home

Henry Carstairs Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1942 UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell mystery books

Buy Books by Henry Carstairs

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Harpingers Hunch Ward Lock 1953 Blue/green boards, black lettering
Drifting Death As Above 1944  
Black Burying Ward Lock 1945  
Secretary of State for Death As Above 1946 Red cloth, black titles
Cruel Dart As Above 1947 Dust jacket priced 8/6
Blood M'Lud As Above 1948  
Who Lies Bleeding As Above 1949  
Blackdrop Hall As Above 1950  
Lying Down Below Ward Lock 1951  
Oh No You Don't As Above 1952  
When Three Makes Two As Above 1953  
Death's Duet As Above 1954  
The Winton Street Mystery Ward Lock 1955  

Henry Carstairs Author Biography - Further Information
Henry Carstairs had one main series character who appeared in all the books listed above, Lydford Long. Sadly we know very little else about the author, something we are happy to remedy should any family members wish to get in touch. We do know however that he is deserving of a wider audience. Having read some of his work it is of greater quality than many of his better known contemporaries. His style is firmly set in the Golden Age and for those who enjoy that genre we heartily recommend him.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Bought     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Artwork     Home Page