crime fiction home

Harriet Ainsworth Bibliography

UK & US First Edition Books in Order

Harriet Ainsworth aka Elizabeth Cadell

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Harriet Ainsworth Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Consider the Lilies Hodder & Stoughton 1955 British Library also states [1956]
That could be the actual reception date
Shadow on the Water Hodder & Stoughton 1958 US title: Shadows on the Water
Morrow 1958 as by Elizabeth Cadell
Death Among Friends Hodder & Stoughton 1964 Dust jacket artwork by Peter Probyn
Reprinted by White Lion in 1972

Buy Books by Harriet Ainsworth

Harriet Ainsworth Author Biography - Information About the Author
Harriet Ainsworth is a pseudonym of Violet Elizabeth Gadell who was born in 1903 and died in 1989, the books listed in the bibliography above are all included in Hubin's crime fiction reference guide.
Harriet Ainsworth's books are rare and sought after by crime an dmystery fiction book collectors and although there are only three books published under this pen name a full set isn't going to be easy, especially in VG+ to fine condition with original dustwrappers.
We've noted the only American edition listed in the library of Congress.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page