crime fiction home

George Baxt Bibliography

US & UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1940 UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell mystery books

Buy Books by George Baxt

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
A Queer Kind of Death Jonathan Cape 1967  
Swing Low Sweet Harriet Simon & Schuster 1967 US only
A Parade of Cockeyed Creatures Cape 1968  
Topsy and Evil Schuster 1968 US only
I Said the Demon Cape 1969  
The Affair at Royalties Macmillan 1971 Precedes the US
Burning Sappho Macmillan 1972  
The Neon Graveyard St Martin's 1979 US only
Process of Elimination St Martin's 1984 US only
The Dorothy Parker Murder Case St Martin's 1984 US only

George Baxt for Sale

George Baxt Biography - Further Information
George Baxt, born in America in 1923, has three main series characters Pharoah Love, Sylvia Plotkin and Max Van Larsen. Whilst not perhaps the best known of mystery authors, he does deserve a wider audience. Those who are familiar with his work hold it in high regard, as do stateside critics.
Most of the books were sadly not published in the UK and those that were are preceded, except for one, by their US counterparts. Baxt has also written numerous uncollected short stories, the majority of which were published in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page