crime fiction home

Friedrich Dürrenmatt Bibliography

UK & US & German First Edition Books

Friedrich Dürrenmatt Series Character: Kommissar Hans Barlach

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Friedrich Durrenmatt Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Judge and His Hangman Herbert Jenkins 1954 US: Harper 1955. Also as End of the Game, Warner 1976
Originally: Der Richter und Sein Henker. Einsiedeln 1952
The Pledge Jonathan Cape 1959 US: Knopf 1959. Translated from:
Das Versprechen. Surich 1958
A Dangerous Game Jonathan Cape 1960 US: Knopf 1960 as: Traps
Translated from: Die Panne. Zurich 1956
The Quarry Jonathan Cape 1962 US: New York Graphic Society 1962
Translation of: Der Verdacht. Einsiedeln 1959

The Author: Friedrich Durrenmatt

Buy Books by Friedrich Durrenmatt

Friedrich Durrenmatt Author Biography - Information About the Author
Friedrich Dürrenmatt was born in 1921 and died in 1990.
The titles we've included in this Swiss author's list of books are the crime and mystery titles listed in Hubin.
We've included the American editions and also the original German publications and titles.
The author did write a lot of other books, including non-fiction, and many of those are relatively common but the crime and mystery fiction books listed above are quite rare in first edition status with dust jacket, I've never physically seen the Herbert Jenkins title.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page