crime fiction home

Francis Vivian Bibliography

UK First Edition Books in Order

Francis Vivian Series Characters:
Superintendent Gordon Knollis - Inspector John Burnell - Sergeant Ronnie Drew

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Francis Vivian Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Death at the Salutation Herbert Jenkins 1937 Insp John Burnell murder mystery
Black Alibi Herbert Jenkins 1938 Not reprinted by Dean Street Press
The Arrow of Death Herbert Jenkins 1938 The first Sergeant Ronnie Drew book
The Three Short Men Herbert Jenkins 1939 The first Inspector Hollis book re Hubin
Dark Moon Herbert Jenkins 1939 The second Sergeant Ronnie Drew book
The Frog was Yellow Herbert Jenkins 1940
Story Weaving Hutchinson 1940 A text-book on the craft of story-writing
The Death of Mr Lomas Herbert Jenkins 1941 The second Inspector Gordon Hollis book re Hubin
Creative Technique in Fiction Hutchinson 1946 Non-fiction listed in British Library
Hutchinson's Scientific & Technical. DJ 7/6
Sable Messenger Herbert Jenkins 1947
The Threefold Cord Herbert Jenkins 1947 Dustwrapper priced 8/6
The Ninth Enemy Hodder & Stoughton 1948 Dust jacket priced 8/6
Murder in Angel Yard Fiction House 1949
The Laughing Dog Hodder & Stoughton 1949 Inspector Hollis
The Singing Masons Hodder & Stoughton 1950
The Elusive Bowman Hodder & Stoughton 1951
The Sleeping Island Hodder & Stoughton 1951
The Ladies of Locksley Herbert Jenkins 1953 US: Roy 1957
Darkling Death Herbert Jenkins 1956 US: Roy 1957
Dead Opposite the Church Herbert Jenkins 1959

Buy Books by Francis Vivian

Francis Vivian Author Biography - Information About the Author
Francis Vivian is a pseudonym of Arthur Ernest Ashley who was born in 1906 according to the British Library.
Arthur Ernest Ashley was a founding member of the Nottingham Writer's Club.
Book collectors do seek out the crime fiction first edition books in dust jacket as the author is well regarded, as he is by readers.
The early books by Vivian Francis are rare, as you'd expect, but even the post 1941 books are rarer than you'd expect in dustwrapper.
They do benefit from some attractive cover artwork too, HJ once again not letting us down.
Readers are fortunate because the Inspector Knollis series has been recently reprinted in paperback by Dean Street Press in LOndon.
We've noted the books published in America as and when applicable.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page