crime fiction home

Francis Grierson Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

Francis Grierson Series Characters: Supt Andrew Ash - Det Insp George Muir
Det Inspector Sims - Professor Wells - Ruchard Furling - Commissaire Patras

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Francis Grierson Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Limping Man Hodder and Stoughton 1924 Reprinted by Readers Library 1933
The Lost Pearl Hodder and Stoughton 1925
The Double Thumb Hodder and Stoughton 1925
Secret Judges Hodder and Stoughton 1925 Dust jacket priced 7/6
The Zoo Murder Geoffrey Bles 1926
The Smiling Death Geoffrey Bles 1927
The White Camellia Geoffrey Bles 1928
Heart of the Moon A. Rivers 1928
The Yellow Rat Collins 1929
Murder at the Wedding Collins 1929
The Green Diamond Mystery Collins 1929
The Blue Bucket Mystery Geoffrey Bles 1929
The Lady of Despair Collins Crime Club 1930 June 1930. Dust jacket 7/6
The Mysterious Mademoiselle Collins Crime Club 1930 December 1930. Dust jacket 7/6
The Jackdaw Mystery Collins Crime Club 1931 May 1931. Dust jacket 7/6
Mystery in Red Collins Crime Club 1931 October 1931. Dust jacket 7/6
Murder in Mortimer Square Collins Crime Club 1932 April 1932. Dust jacket 7/6
The Mystery of the Golden Angel Collins Crime Club 1933 January 1933. Dust jacket 7/6
The Monkhurst Murder Collins Crime Club 1933 July 1933. Dustwrapper 7/6
The Empty House Thornton Butterworth 1933
Murder at Lancaster Gate Thornton Butterworth 1934
Death on Deposit Thornton Butterworth 1935 Not in Hubin
Murder in Black Thornton Butterworth 1935
The Heart in the Box Thornton Butterworth 1936
The Cowards' Club Thornton Butterworth 1937
The Man from Madagascar Thornton Butterworth 1937
The Cabaret Crime Thornton Butterworth 1938
A Covenant with Death Thornton Butterworth 1938
The Acrefield Mystery Thornton Butterworth 1938
The Mystery of the Two-Faced Man Thornton Butterworth 1939 Dustwrapper priced 7/6
The Mad Hatter Murder Eyre & Spottiswoode 1941
The Ink Street Murder Eyre & Spottiswoode 1941 Hubin states 1940 Butterworth
Incorrectly re all major reference libraries
Thrice Judas Eyre & Spottiswoode 1942
The Crimson Cat Eyre & Spottiswoode 1944 Dust jacket priced 8s 6d net
Entertaining Murder Eyre & Spottiswoode 1945
Out of the Ashes Eyre & Spottiswoode 1946
No Wreaths for the Duchess Hutchinson 1948
He Had It Coming to Him Eyre & Spottiswoode 1948
The Valley of Shadows Houghton Mifflin 1948 UK title? Not in Hubin, no UK in BL
The Buddha of Fleet street Hutchinson 1949
The Strange Case of Edgar Heriot Hutchinson 1950
Boomerang Murder Hutchinson 1951
Madame Shadow Hutchinson 1952
Traitor's Cross Hutchinson 1952 Dust jacket priced 10s 6d net
Judas C.I.D. Robert Hale 1954
Blackmail in Red Robert Hale 1954
The Blind Frog Robert Hale 1955
The Sign of the Nine Robert Hale 1956
Green Evil Robert Hale 1958
Famous French crimes Muller 1959 Non-fiction
The Red Cobra Robert Hale 1960

The Author: Francis Grierson

Buy Books by Francis Grierson

Francis Grierson Author Biography - Information About the Author
Francis Durham Grierson was born in 1888 and died in 1972.
A very prolific author as can clearly be seen. We've included every title listed and held in the major British institutional libraries, British Library, Oxford, Scotland Wales and Dublin, so we hope this is a complete list of the author's books.
Collecting Francis Grierson books is not easy, they're scarce at best in dust jacket and sometimes never seen at worst.
A full set of Grierson's books would be a sight to behold as most benefit from attractive period artwork.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page