crime fiction home

Evan Hunter Bibliography

US & UK First Edition Books in Order

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Evan Hunter Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Find the Feathered Serpent John C. Winston 1952 Dust jacket artist Henry Enoch Sharp
Endpaper artwork Alex Schomburg
The Evil Sleep ! Falcon 1952 Paperback original
The Big Fix Falcon 1952 Also as So Nude So Dead
As Richard Marsten, Crest 1956
Don't Crowd Me Popular Library 1953 Also, World Distributors 1960. Also as
The Paradise Party Four Square 1968
The Blackboard Jungle Simon & Schuster 1954 UK: Constable 1955
Second Ending Simon & Schuster 1956 UK: Constable 1955
The Jungle Kids Pocket Books 1956 Paperback original, short story book
Strangers When We Meet Simon & Schuster 1958 Dust jacket priced $4.50
UK: Constable 1958
A Matter of Conviction Simon & Schuster 1959 UK: Constable 1959
Also published as The Young Savages 1966 paperback
Book set in New York City
The Last Spin & Other Stories Constable 1960 American edition ?
The Remarkable Harry Abelard-Schuman 1961 UK: Abelard-Schuman 1961
Buddwing Simon & Schuster 1964 UK: Constable 1964
Happy New Year, Herbie Simon & Schuster 1963 UK: Constable 1965
The Paper Dragon Delacorte Press 1966 UK: Constable 1967
Fine UK DJ artwork by Graham Bishop
A Horse's Head Delacorte 1967 UK: Constable 1968
Last Summer Doubleday 1968 UK: Constable 1969
Sons Doubleday 1969 UK: Constable 1970
Nobody Knew They Were There Doubleday 1971 UK: Constable 1971
Every Little Crook and Nanny Doubleday 1972 UK: Constable 1972
Seven Constable 1972 US ?
Come Winter Little Brown 1973 UK: Constable 1973
UK dustwrapper by Graham Bishop
Streets of Gold Harper & Row 1974 UK: Macmillan 1975
Me and Mr Stenner J.B. Lippincott 1976 Not crime fiction
The Chisholms Harper & Row 1976 UK: Hamish Hamilton 1976
Walk Proud Bantam Books 1979 Movie adaptation
Love Dad Crown Publishers 1981 UK: Michael Joseph 1981
Far From The Sea Atheneum 1983 Dust jacket design by Paul Bacon
UK: Hamish Hamilton Ltd 1983
Lizzie Arbor House 1984 UK: Hamish Hamilton Ltd 1984
Criminal Conversation Warner Books 1994 UK: Hodder and Stoughton 1994
Privileged Conversation Warner Books 1996 UK: Hodder and Stoughton 1996
Candyland Simon and Schuster 2001 With Ed McBain
UK: Orion 2001
The Moment She was Gone Simon and Schuster 2002 UK: Orion 2002

Buy Books by Evan Hunter

Evan Hunter Author Biography - Information About the Author
Evan Hunter, born Salvatore Albert Lombino, is better known as Ed McBain.
Book collectors will find the first edition relatively easy to find, especially using online specialist book dealers. The odd title is rare and the early books are not cheap.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page