crime fiction home

Elizabeth George Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

Detective Fiction Titles

Buy Books by Elizabeth George

Series characters Inspector Lynley & Sergeant Havers

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
A Great Deliverance Bantam Press 1989  
Payment in Blood Bantam 1989  
Well Schooled in Murder Bantam 1990  
A Suitable Vengeance Bantam 1991  
For the Sake of Elena Bantam 1992  
Missing Joseph Bantam 1993  
Playing For The Ashes Bantam Press 1994  
In The Presence Of The Enemy Hodder & Stoughton 1996  
Deception On His Mind Hodder & Stoughton 1997  
In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner Hodder & Stoughton 1999  
The Evidence Exposed Hodder & Stoughton 1999 Short stories
A Traitor to Memory Hodder & Stoughton 2001  
I Richard Hodder & Stoughton 2001 Rehashed version of Evidence Exposed, UK PBO ?
A Place of Hiding Hodder & Stoughton 2003  
With No One As Witness Hodder & Stoughton 2005  
What Came Before He Shot Her Hodder & Stoughton 2007  
Careless in Red Hodder & Stoughton 2008  

Elizabeth George Biography More Information About
Highly recommended author with great series characters.
Inspector Thomas Lynley, or Lord Asherton if you prefer, and Barbara Havers have been superbly translated to the small screen
played by Nathaniel Parker and Sharon Small. If you've not read the books we we can heartily recommend
them as we can the TV series which is available on DVD.
The author is American and perhaps the most surprising thing is how well she captures the British setting.
Authors who set a series of books outside the country in which they live usually fail to capture that which
is known to locals etc - they rarely work but in this case they do magnificently.
For collectors of UK first editions many of the books are uncommon due to small print runs.


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Artists     Home Page