crime fiction home

Elizabeth Backhouse Bibliography

UK - Australian First Edition Books in Order

Elizabeth Backhouse Series Character: Inspector Christopher Marsden - Inspector Prentis

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Elizabeth Backhouse Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
In Our Hands Patersons Press 1942 Not in the British Library
The Sky Has its Clouds Pitman 1944 Australian publication
Day Will Break Pitman 1945 "Historical fiction during the French Revolution"
Leaves in the Wind Pitman 1946
Death Came Uninvited Robert Hale 1957
The Mists Came Down Robert Hale 1959 "American private investigator Steve Gillman"
The Web of Shadows Robert Hale 1960 First of the Inspector Prentis Books
The Night Has Eyes Robert Hale 1961
Death of a Clown Robert Hale 1962
Death Climbs a Hill Robert Hale 1963

Buy Books by Elizabeth Backhouse

Elizabeth Backhouse Author Biography - Information About the Author
Enid Elizabeth Backhouse, born 1917 and died 2013, she is a Hubin listed crime and mystery author.
We've taken this Elizabeth Backhouse beyond the books listed by Hubin to include all the books held in the British and Oxford libraries.
The books were not published in America, according to the US Library of Congress.
The British crime fiction books on Robert Hale are rare, very difficult to find in collectable condition with dust jackets.
If and when they do turn up they are almost always ex-library copies in our experience, it's the usual story with this publisher truth be told, sometimes they only printed enough to cover library service pre-orders with some authors.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page