crime fiction home

Dorothy Simpson Bibliography

UK & US First Edition Books

Dorothy Simpson Series Character: Inspector Thanet

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying the first book, UK first edition in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell books

Buy Books by Dorothy Simpson

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
Harbingers of Fear Macdonald 1977 Brown cloth, gilt titles. DW 3.50
The Night She Died Michael Joseph 1981 US: 1981 Scribner
Six Feet Under Michael Joseph 1982 US: 1982 Scribner
Puppet for a Corpse Michael Joseph 1983 US: 1983 Scribner
Close Her Eyes Michael Joseph 1984 US: 1984 Scribner
Last seen Alive Michael Joseph 1985 US: 1985 Scribner
Dead on Arrival Michael Joseph 1986 US: 1986 Scribner
Element of Doubt Michael Joseph 1987 US: 1987 Scribner
Suspicious Death Michael Joseph 1988 US: 1988 Scribner
Dead By Morning Michael Joseph 1989 US: 1989 Scribner
Doomed to Die Michael Joseph 1991 US: 1991 Scribner
Wake the Dead Michael Joseph 1992 US: 1992 Scribner
No Laughing Matter Michael Joseph 1993 Dust jacket priced 14.99
US: 1993 Scribner
A Day for Dying Michael Joseph 1995  
Once Too Often Little Brown 1998  
Dead and Gone Little Brown 1999  

Dorothy Simpson Books for Sale

Dorothy Simpson Biography - Further Information
Dorothy Simpson, born 1933, has one main series character Inspector Thanet, assisted by Sergeant Mike Lineham. All but the first title are set in Kent, England and feature well rounded supporting characters and are well plotted. The books attracted quite a bit of interest from collectors initially, though, inexplicably, this seems to have calmed down. The do represent something of an opportunity for collectors as they are not only good books but still reasonably priced, many having very attractive dust jackets. A full set of first editions should not be too difficult to put together, there are no issue points to worry about and, in all cases, the UK editions precede the American editions, they UK books are also more desirable in terms of collectability and value.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Bought     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page