crime fiction home

Delano Ames Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

Series Characters: Dagobert and Jane Brown

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1940 UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell mystery books

Buy Books by Delano Ames

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
They Journey By Night Hodder & Stoughton 1932 ECB only lists 3/6 'cheap edition' July 32
No Traveller Returns Nicholson & Watson 1934 Dust jacket 7/6
The Cornish Coast Conspiracy Amalgamated Press 1942 Not listed in ECB
He Found Himself Murdered Gerald Swan 1947  
She Shall Have Murder Hodder 1948  
Murder Begins at Home Hodder 1949  
Corpse Diplomatique Hodder 1950  
Death of a Fellow Traveller Hodder 1950  
The Body on Page One Hodder 1951  
Murder Maestro Please Hodder 1952  
No Mourning for the Matador Hodder 1953  
Crime Gentlemen Please Hodder 1954  
Landscape with Corpse Hodder 1955  
Crime Out of Mind Hodder 1956 Dust jacket by Jarvis
She Wouldn't Say Who Hodder 1957  
Lucky Jane Hodder 1959  
The Man in the Tricorn Hat Methuen 1960 Dust jacket by David Watson. Priced 15s
The Man with Three Jaguars Methuen 1961  
The man with Three Chins Methuen 1965  
The Man with Three Passports Methuen 1967  

Delano Ames Biography - Further Information
Delano Ames was American, born in 1906 and died in 1987, but spent much of his time in England. His main series characters Dagobert and Jane Brown have quite a following amongst collectors and readers. Readers are advised to read the books in sequence. There are also four books which feature the character Juan Llorca. Later titles are not especially rare but early books in jacket are very scarce. In all cases, the UK publication precedes the American and there are several title changes for the US editions.

Buy Books by Delano Ames

The Author Delano Ames

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page