crime fiction home

Davis Grubb Bibliography

US & UK First Edition Books in Order

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Davis Grubb Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Night of the Hunter Harper & Brothers 1953 UK: Hamish Hamilton 1954
UK dust jacket artwork by Roy Sanford
Basis of a film by Charles Laughton
A Dream of Kings Charles Scribner's 1955 Dustwrapper artwork by by Richard Powers
The Watchman Scribner 1961 UK: Michael Joseph 1962
The Voices of Glory Charles Scribner's 1962 UK: Michael Joseph 1963
Twelve Tales of Suspense and the Supernatural Charles Scribner's 1964
A Tree Full of Stars Scribner's 1965
Shadow of My Brother Holt, Rinehart 1966 UK: Hutchinson 1966
The Golden Sickle World Publishing 1968
Fools' Parade World Publishing 1969 UK: Hodder & Stoughton 1971
The Barefoot Man Simon & Schuster 1971
The Siege of 318 Back Fork Books 1978
Ancient Lights Viking Press 1982

Buy Books by Davis Grubb

Davis Grubb Author Biography - Information About the Author
Davis Alexander Grubb was born in 1919 and died in 1980, listed in Hubin's Crime Fiction reference guide.
Due to the movie the author's first book, The Night of the Hunter, has been reprinted numerous times in various formats.
American editions precede the British books in all cases, UK published books are noted as and when held by the British Library.
Book collectors will be able to source a full set in dust jackets, albeit at a cost for the early titles.
Readers are well-served too, paperbacks are plentiful and cheap.

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page