crime fiction home

Clyde B Clason Bibliography

UK - US First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1940 books, UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell books

Buy Books by Clyde Clason

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Fifth Tumbler Doubleday 1936 UK: 1937 Heinemann. UK DJ 7/6
The Death Angel Doubleday 1936 UK: 1937 Heinemann. UK DJ 7/6
Blind Drifts Doubleday 1937  
The Purple Parrot Doubleday 1937 UK: 1937 Heinemann. UK DJ 7/6
The Man From Tibet Doubleday 1938 UK: 1938 Heinemann. UK DJ 7/6
The Whispering Ear Doubleday 1938 UK: 1939 Heinemann. UK DJ 7/6
Murder Gone Minoan Doubleday 1939 UK: 1939 Heinemann as Clue to the Labyrinth.
UK DJ 7/6. Artwork Youngman Carter
Dragon's Cave Doubleday 1939 UK: 1940 Heinemann. UK DJ 8/-
Poison Jasmine Doubleday 1940  
Green Shiver Doubleday 1941 UK: 1948 Heinemann

Further Information
Clyde B Clason, born in Denver Colorado in 1903, worked in the advertising business as a copywriter and editor. His main series character, who appears in all the books listed, is Theocritus Lucius Westborough. The author was a typical 1930s American writer, not dissimilar to Clayton Rawson in that he was something of a locked room mystery fan. He specialises in trying to baffle the reader with intricate and elaborate plots, if the is a criticism it is that perhaps they are a little too complex and the final explanations over long. Certainly as good as many of his contemporaries though, many of whom seem to have weathered the time better in terms of popularity, especially amongst collectors


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Bought     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Artwork     Home Page