crime fiction home

Cleve F Adams Bibliography

US - UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1942 books, UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling books wanted

Books for Sale
We have preconfigured a personalised search
for this author
When you see the results page
you can change the 'sort by'
list to most expensive first or
see the links on the right
to narrow your search
thank you
Buy Books by Cleve F Adams
Title   Date Issue Points - Notes
And Sudden Death Dutton 1940  
Sabotage As Above 1940 UK: 1946 Cassell as Death at the Dam
The Black Door Dutton 1941  
Decoy Ditto 1941  
The Private Eye Reynal 1942  
What Price Murder Dutton 1942  
Up Jumped the Devil Reynal 1943  
The Crooking Finger Same Again 1944  
Contraband Knopf 1950 UK: 1952 Cassell as Borderline Cases
No Wings on a Cop Handi-Books 1950 Expanded by Robert Leslie Bellem
Shady Lady Ace 1955  

All page content Classic Crime Fiction

Further Information
Cleve Franklin Adams was a pseudonym of John Spain, 1895 to 1949. There were two main series characters, Rex McBride and John J Shannon. American editions precede English when applicable. I believe he was also responsible for two films, To Have and Have Not in 1944 and The Fatal Witness in 1945. We always welcome further information from family members.


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Bought     Bibliographies     Dust Jackets