Bart Spicer Bibliography

UK First Edition Books

The following bibliography contains the criminous titles
We are always interesting in buying pre 1940 UK first editions in dust jacket
If you have anything you may consider selling sell mystery books

Books for Sale
We have preconfigured a personalised search
for this author
When you see the results page
you can change the 'sort by'
list to most expensive first or
see the links on the right
to narrow your search
thank you
Buy Books by this Author
Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Dark Light Collins 1950  
Blues for the Prince Collins 1951  
The Golden Door Collins 1951  
Final Copy Barker 1952 as Jay Barbette
Black Sheep Run Collins 1952  
Shadow of Fear Collins 1953 Red-purple cloth, gilt letters, dust jacket 9/6
US: The Long Green
Dear Dead Days Barker 1954 as Jay Barbette
The Taming of Carney Wilde Hodder 1955  
The Day of the Dead Hodder & Stoughton 1956 Green cloth, gilt. Dust jacket 10/6
The Deadly Doll Long 1959 as Jay Barbette
Exit Running Hodder 1960  
Look Behind You Long 1961 as Jay Barbette
Act of Anger Barker 1963  
The Burned Man Hale 1967  
Kellog Junction Hodder 1970  
The Adversary Hart Davis 1974  

Further Information
Bart Spicer was born in Richmond, Virginia in 1918. He had three series characters, Benson Kellog, Peregrine White and Carney Wilde. In all cases, the US editions precede the English. He also wrote five non-criminous novels, not included above. Spicer deserves wider recognition for his hardboiled style of writing.  Whilst there are some big names overshadowing him, his work stands up very favourably to the likes of Mickey Spillane. A recommended author to fans of the genre.


Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dustwrapper Artwork     Home Page