crime fiction home

Alfred John Evans aka A.J. Evans Bibliography

UK First Edition Books in Order

The following bibliography - Checklist contains the author's crime and mystery fiction books listed in order

Alfred John Evans Books for Sale

Title Publisher Date Issue Points - Notes
The Escaping Club John Lane 1921 With 4 illustrations & 4 maps
Reprinted 6th edition Bodley Head 1921
Reissued again J. Cape, 1936
UK paperback Penguin 1939
US: The James A. McCann 1922
The Escapes of Captain O'Brien, R.N., 1804-1808 John Lane 1932 Introduction only by A.J. Evans
Who's the Guy Hodder & Stoughton 1940 Not listed by the British Library
The Penguin Herodotus Penguin 1941 Edited by A.J. Evans
Why Not Prosperity? Penguin 1943
Escape and Liberation, 1940-1945 Hodder & Stoughton 1945
The House of Anna Hodder & Stoughton 1953
Shakespeare's Magic Circle Arthur Barker 1956
The V2 Expert Hodder & Stoughton 1956
All's Fair on Lake Garda Hodder & Stoughton 1958
Honesty of Purpose-Jesus did not lie Regency 1970 Reprint or posthumous publication?

Buy Books by A.J. Evans

A J Evans Author Biography - Information About the Author
Alfred John Evans was born in 1889 - died in 1960 (re British Library) and is listed in Hubin's crime fiction reference guide, his books were published variously using his full name or the initials A.J.
Best known for his novel The Escaping Club which has been reprinted many times, some noted in the bibliography above, also in Large Print in the 1970s and as recent as 2012 by Fonthill Media Limited and also, at the time of writing, available as a Print-on-Demand book.
The crime fiction titles on Hodder are uncommon, some positively rare in dust jacket

Classic Crime Fiction

Books Wanted     Bibliography     Dust Jacket Art     Home Page